Coverart for item
The Resource We are gathered, Jamie Weisman

We are gathered, Jamie Weisman

Label
We are gathered
Title
We are gathered
Statement of responsibility
Jamie Weisman
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For readers of Maggie Shipstead and Maria Semple, a tender and funny debut that tells the story of an interfaith wedding in Atlanta -- from the perspectives of its (adoring, envious, resentful, hilarious) guests ... One afternoon in Atlanta, Georgia. Two people heading to the altar. One hundred fifty guests. The bride, Elizabeth Gottlieb, proud graduate of the University of Virginia and of Emory University School of Law, member of Atlanta's wealthy Jewish elite. The groom, Hank Jackson, not a member. Not a Jew. The couple of the hour, however, is beside the point, because We Are Gathered belongs to the guests. Among them, Carla, Elizabeth's quick-witted, ugly duckling childhood best friend turned Hollywood film scout, whose jaundiced view of the drama that is an American wedding provides a lens of humor and its corollary, deep compassion for the supporting actors who steal the show; Elizabeth's great-aunt Rachel, a Holocaust survivor from Germany who is still navigating a no-man's-land between cultures and identities decades after escaping from the forests of Europe; Elizabeth's wheelchair-bound grandfather Albert, who considers his legacy as a man, both in the boardroom and the bedroom; and Annette, the mother of the bride herself, reminded now of her youthful indiscretions in love and motherhood. Balancing razor-sharp humor with a blunt vision ofthe fragility of our mortal bonds, Jamie Weisman skillfully constructs a world--and family--that pulls you in and carries you along with its refreshing, jagged beauty"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Weisman, Jamie
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3623.E45
LC item number
W4 2018
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Jewish women
  • Weddings
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • FAMILY & RELATIONSHIPS
  • Jewish women
  • Weddings
Label
We are gathered, Jamie Weisman
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn994315721
Dimensions
22 cm
Extent
275 pages
Isbn
9781328793294
Lccn
2017046218
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)994315721
Label
We are gathered, Jamie Weisman
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn994315721
Dimensions
22 cm
Extent
275 pages
Isbn
9781328793294
Lccn
2017046218
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)994315721

Library Locations

    • Pollard Memorial Library (Lowell)Borrow it
      401 Merrimack Street, Lowell, MA, 01852, US
      42.6460901 -71.3144378
Processing Feedback ...